June 1st, 2014, World Outlander Day was a smashing success. We had quotes, artwork, and words from the heart being tweeted from every direction. I thought it might be nice to have one place to view all the wonderful sentiments. Enjoy the entries below for the second time or the first – if you missed any. Thank you to all my sisters for their talent and for sharing their love of all things Outlander and Diana Gabaldon. If I missed some (and I’m sure I have), please let me know. I’m happy to add!

First up are the few pieces I did for fun and well as two of my favorite quotes from the books.

#WorldOutlanderDay_countries_11
[Note: The countries listed above are those who had visited my blog on or around the first official World Outlander Day. Several more countries since then have joined the clan.]

#WorldOutlanderDay_GN

#WorldOutlanderDay_Claire

#WorldOutlanderDay_q1_2

#WorldOutlanderDay_q2_2

#coverpage_3

#WorldOutlanderDayMosaic_3

Next up is the lovely piece Kathy Powell did to accompany my sonnet tribute to Diana Gabaldon. The pieces following are Kath’s other outstanding contributions to the day of celebration.

One of  kind for Candida3

kath_1

kath_3

kath_4

kath_5

kath_6

kath_7

kath_8

kath_9

kath_10

cova_1

My friend Covadonga Vega had some verra lovely contributions on World Outlander Day. Technically, most of the pieces are from May 31st, but I couldn’t leave them out.

cova_2

cova_3

cova_5

cova_4

My German Sassenach friend, Sionnach, is our next talented artist. She had quite a few amazing pieces to share.

sionnach_1

sionnach_2

sionnach_3

sionnach_4

sionnach_5

sionnach_6

sionnach_7

sionnach_8

sionnach_9Drums of Autumn, Chapter 13: An Examination of Conscience, concludes:

he said softly, “and the love of you is my soul. But you’re right; ye canna be my conscience.”

sionnach_10A Breath of Snow and Ashes, Chapter 16: Le Mot Juste, concludes:

“Are you being deliberately modest or are you hoping to inspire me to raptures of praise by means of classic understatement?”
      The mouth widened further, and his teeth closed gently on my questing finger for a moment before releasing it.
      “Oh, modesty, to be sure,” he said. “If I’d hopes of inspiring ye to raptures, it wouldna be with my words, now, would it?”

After you cool off from that quote, let’s take a look at Isa‘s work. We all know her passion for Tobias Menzies, so I’m including some of her impressive pieces from earlier in the week to help us continue the art celebration. The last picture is a beauty from today.

Screen shot 2014-06-01 at 10.23.15 PM

Screen shot 2014-06-01 at 10.24.39 PM

Screen shot 2014-06-01 at 10.25.58 PM

Screen shot 2014-06-01 at 10.26.37 PM

Screen shot 2014-06-01 at 10.27.31 PM

Isa_6

Isa_7

Nadia from New Zealand is back with the touch of her magic hands. Again, I’m including pieces from earlier in the week because they are too darn lovely to leave out.

nadia_1

nadia_2_2

nadia_3

The talented German Sassenachs came through with several fantastic pieces throughout the day.

germany_1

germany_2Dragonfly in Amber Prologue

germany_4Outlander, Chapter 35: Wentworth Prison

germany_5

germany_6

germany_7

germany_8

germany_9

germany_10

Germans, Germans everywhere! Lots of wonderfully artistic ladies from that country. Here’s the artwork from another of our talented sisters, Riet.

riet_1

riet_2

riet_3

riet_5

riet_6

riet_7

Ready for some more poetry – this time from the mastress of sonnets? Here’s a link to Dàrsaidh‘s beautifully worded tribute to Diana Gabaldon:

darcy

Sonnet to Herself on World Outlander Day

Yesterday everyone spoke from the heart, and at least one person revealed a deep, dark secret. Below is a link to the Great Scot! blog post from our dear friend, Mandy Tidwell:

mandy

What Outlander Means to Me – Words in honor of #WorldOutlanderDay

Last but never least in my heart is our lovely and favorite Costa Rican artist, Ingrid, with another fantastic poster mock-up to demonstrate her love of Outlander.

Ingrid_1

That wraps up the first official World Outlander Day with respect to a majority of the art. Several – let’s face it – hundreds of memorable quotes and tweets to Diana Gabaldon, Sam Heughan, Caitriona Balfe, and Ron D. Moore were sent yesterday, but I stopped short of collecting all those fantastic messages.

I hope everyone had as much fun as I did. Next for a few lucky hundred is the Seattle Retreat, then the publication of MOBY, and then ––– the series premiere in the US and Canada. To all the fans across the globe, I hope you are each rewarded with announcement of your premiere dates soon.

8 thoughts on “World Outlander Day in Review

  1. I love being able to see all this amazing art on one page! Thank you!

Leave a comment