All Souls Con

For Outlander fans who are also fans of the All Souls Trilogy by Deborah Harkness, I decided to share with you the fun I had at the first (fan orchestrated) All Souls Conference held in Beverly Hills on Saturday, September 12. This is not a comprehensive report, by any means. It’s merely a sharing of my favorite moments.

For those who know the series, you can skip this paragraph and the next. I am not a fan of most paranormal-type stories. I have nothing against them, they simply do not hold my interest for the most part. I made an exception when I picked up A Discovery of Witches, the first book in the All Souls Trilogy, because it had received several rave reviews. Yes, it has witches. It has vampires. It has demons. It has magic. It has science. It has history. It has adventure. It has action. It has romance. It has time travel.

The story begins in present time Oxford, where our heroine, Diana Bishop – a non-practicing witch and professor, and our hero, Matthew de Clairmont – a very old vampire and geneticist, first encounter one another. They travel back to the Renaissance in the second book, Shadow of Night, where we meet several historical figures, including Queen Elizabeth. The third novel, Book of Life, returns the characters to the present for the suspenseful conclusion. While Diana and Matthew are the main characters, the novel is filled with other vibrant and interesting witches, vampires and demons – many of whom became fan-favorites throughout the series. You’ll meet mine at the end of this post.

The intimate conference, held at the Sofitel, served a most delish breakfast and lunch, the menus having been planned based on food prepared and served in the novels.

The entertainment was outstanding, music provided by Ms. Harkness’ fellow USC Trojans. The selection of songs was taken directly from the Renaissance period, so we could enjoy the tunes Diana Bishop and Matthew de Clairmont might have heard during their trip back through time.

Jennifer Ikeda, the very talented actress who recorded all three audio novels, joined the conference to discuss the process of her preparations and studio sessions. At a very young age, her gift for mimicking accents and voices was discovered when she began singing exactly like Annie Lennox after hearing her only one time. In addition, she also possesses a “demonic” level of endurance, tested and proved when she completed the recording of Book of Life in three and a half days! Closed in a small, dark booth from 9:00 am until 5:00 pm every day, she soldiered through the entire novel.

Ms. Ikeda was kind enough to perform for us part of A Discovery of Witches – the scene in the Bodleian Library when Diana and Matthew first meet. I am not a regular audio book listener myself, but I was simply enthralled listening to Ms. Ikeda’s rendition. She is the voice of Diana Bishop.

Finally, Deborah Harkness took the podium and expressed her gratitude to the tireless organizers of the event – Karen Mendez and Laura Ventura. First things first, she had no breaking news about the adaptation for BBC. They (she, the producers, and writers) are still breaking up the first novel. So, until the show is actually greenlit by whoever does the greenlighting for the BBC, there will be no casting announcements.

Perhaps the most exciting news of the day was . . . (drum roll, please) . . . Ms. Harkness is writing, and she’s writing about characters we know and love. No hints as to whether she’s writing another book in the series or telling the story of one of the many other fascinating characters in the novels. Whatever it turns out to be, we were rest assured, it will not be short.

If you are a fan of the novels, I am sure one of your favorite characters is also one of my favorite characters. As luck would have it, we were able to meet Gallowglass de Clermont in the flesh. Yes, Matthew’s strapping, Scottish nephew was on hand to meet and greet the fans.

Gallowglass is described in the novel as being a fierce and honorable warrior – a giant of a man with long, blond hair and the piercing blue eyes of a Nordic Viking. San Diego actor/model/athlete/journeyman (soon to be the next “it” man), Thomas Gunter, fit the description of Gallowglass perfectly.

At the conclusion of the conference, Ms. Harkness and Ms. Ikeda signed books for the 200 fans in attendance. Mr. Gunter stood by in kilt to pose for pictures with all the lucky ladies – and a few men.

Me being me, I decided to have a little fun. When my turn arrived, I introduced myself to Mr. Gunter and asked if we could pose as if for a romance novel. Being the good sport he is, I was swung into his arms and directed to look into his eyes. This man is a pro, which you can see for yourself on his website.

Me being me, I made something special for myself.

highlander_paradise

If you haven’t read the All Souls Trilogy, I highly recommend it. We all adore smart, courageous female leads around here. Diana Bishop does not disappoint.

What the heck? As long as I’m recommending books involving magic with strong women, I absolutely loved The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. It has magic. It has love. It has tragedy. It has beauty. It had me hooked on the first page.

20 thoughts on “All Souls Con

  1. I do love the All Souls Trilogy and am happy to hear she is writing another book. Thanks for the update and love your cover picture!

  2. i needed a new series!! thanks for the recommendation, and the report of the fun at the event….nice to read you again! the OTHER reason i can’t wait for next season of outlander is to your blog!

    1. Well, I’m happy to keep your TBR stack high. I recently read the first book in another trilogy called The Black House by Peter May. Fantastic writing and story, concurrently told in present and in flashback to the main character’s childhood. He’s a detective in Edinburgh, who’s sent back to the small village where he grew up in the Hebrides to investigate a murder similar to a case he’s working in the city. It’s wonderful. Can’t wait to read The Lewis Man and The Chessman.

      Enjoy the AST and The Night Circus, if you’re so inclined.

      Nice to hear from you, Kathie!

  3. Oh my gosh, I’m very excited to start of new series that will carry me through and it will be an audio book, being a totally auditorial person I’m charge up to hear Jennifer Ikeda!

  4. Oh wow! Cant wait to read this. Intrigued already. Missed your op ed : )TY. Sent from my BlackBerry 10 smartphone. From: Candida’s MusingsSent: Sunday, September 13, 2015 9:06 PMTo: bebangeles@gmail.comReply To: Candida’s MusingsSubject: [New post] All Souls Con

    a:hover { color: red; } a { text-decoration: none; color: #0088cc; } a.primaryactionlink:link, a.primaryactionlink:visited { background-color: #2585B2; color: #fff; } a.primaryactionlink:hover, a.primaryactionlink:active { background-color: #11729E !important; color: #fff !important; }

    /* @media only screen and (max-device-width: 480px) { .post { min-width: 700px !important; } } */ WordPress.com

    Candida_LN posted: “For Outlander fans who are also fans of the All Souls Trilogy by Deborah Harkness, I decided to share with you the fun I had at the first (fan orchestrated) All Souls Conference held in Beverly Hills on Saturday, September 12. This is not a comprehensive “

  5. The All Souls is my favorite book series ever, surpassing Outlander and yes even Harry Potter. The story is just wonderful – strong females, vulnerable males, magic, redemption and learning to accept differences in others. Even the secondary characters, like Marthe, Gallowglass and Jack, are superbly drawn. And who doesn’t want a Fernando in their life (altho I would be saddling the wrong horse.

    The NIght Circus is another fave. I am reading The Book of Speculation which has magic and mystery right now. If you like books that have magic and mystical, most everything by Sara Addison Allen is that way. My faves of her are Sugar Queen and Garden Spells.

  6. Love your book cover! I actually read The All Souls Trilogy before I had ever heard of Outlander. It is a really good read. I’m thrilled that BBC has picked it up! Thanks for your account of the conference. It sounds like it was fun!

  7. No wonder I like your musings so much! I came to Diana G after I had devoured (several times over the years) the All Souls Trilogy. These books, along with the Outlander series & Lord of the Rings are the ones I regularly re-read & turn too when I need a pick me up.

  8. OMG! I’m so jealous! And was so excited to read about your experiences at All Souls Con! I read about it on Facebook and wished that it was closer to home – and not during my busiest time of the year at work. LOL
    Great news that DH is writing! And YAY for meeting Gallowglass. I’m not sure if she realized how popular he would be, but he is much loved. 🙂

  9. I LOVE that series. I devoured the first book, got to the end and immediately started over and re-read it from the beginning. I don’t normally do that with books but I’m a speed reader and the love story is beautiful between the 2 characters. Thanks for posting about this event!

Leave a Reply

