A True Fan’s Review of #Outlander Episode 116: TO RANSOM A MAN’S SOUL

It seems fitting to write my final Outlander Season One review for Episode 116: TO RANSOM A MAN’S SOUL on World Outlander Day. It was twenty-four years ago on June 1st, 1991, Diana Gabaldon‘s groundbreaking novel was first published. And twenty-four years later, we have the complementary groundbreaking television series to further indulge our appetites.

I’m foregoing my usual recap for this episode. Sorry if anyone is disappointed, but you’ve all seen the episode or you wouldn’t be reading this article. Frankly, I don’t feel like rehashing Jamie’s scenes of torture.

In lieu of a recap and traditional review, I generated a list. You know how I love to make lists. Needless to say, the following mentions barely scratch the surface of this astonishing episode.

Ten Things I Love About Outlander Episode 116: TO RANSOM A MAN’S SOUL and One Thing I Could Do Without:

Let’s start with the one thing I could do without, which is . . . Angus Mhor mauling Claire on the beach. Given the horrors of the episode, I suppose comic relief is the goal. But I find Angus’ actions insensitive to the other characters – not necessarily to the audience. I wish Stephen Walters had spoken up and said, “I don’t think even Angus would do something like that in front of a man who, just days ago, was brutally raped by another.” I have no idea if others like or dislike this bit of farce, but I could have done without it.

01_Review_00000

Now, on to the gory, fun stuff . . .

10. Lights. Camera. Action.

Given the many constraints associated with wrapping up the show, I was eager to view the logistics of this episode more than any other this season. It’s mind-boggling to imagine the number of decisions made for each episode, especially one including what I consider to be avant-garde situations.

I am able to enjoy the show without constantly comparing it to the novel when I’m watching it, but I find it more difficult not to make comparisons when writing about it; however, I’ll try to be impartial.

02_Review_00000 03_Review_00000

The change of season lends itself to the advantage of this episode, enabling the scene in the open wagon to take place. It’s a perfect segue between Wentworth and the monastery. Moving the initial scenes of Jamie’s treatment from MacRannoch’s to the monastery also works well. Because of their location, an urgency is added to Jamie’s extended recovery which speeds the story along to the Jamie/Claire climax.

In a novel, the author can take us from one place to another in a single sentence. In a television production, a single sentence can cost tens of thousands of dollars. I realize you all know that, but sometimes I think people forget and thus, grumble.

All in all, I feel  they – everyone – involved in the production did an admirable job with this episode. In the end, Outlander leaves us wanting more, and there’s nothing wrong with that. Thank you, Outlander-Starz, for delivering an incredible first season of, hopefully, many “more.”

9. Claire Setting Jamie’s Hand

04_Review_00000 05_Review_00000 06_Review_00000 07_Review_00000 08_Review_00000 09_Review_00000

I love scenes of Claire (Caitriona Balfe) doing what she does best – healing. There’s really only one thing which makes me squeamish, and that is flaying. Short of that, I can take just about anything, including protruding bones, oozing blood, and stitching flesh. I am fascinated by the scene of Jamie’s hand, watching Claire repair his mangled fingers and set his hand in an 18th century cast-like contraption. Thank you to the researcher(s), special effects make-up artists and Prop Master John Casey for making this scene look so real.

8. Jamie’s Modesty

First of all, I do not have any issues with nudity on television, male or female . . . but I am glad Jamie’s modesty is kept in tact throughout the entire episode. Cinematically, it works to the advantage of the story. Randall is the aggressor, so it makes sense he should be exposed. Baring Jamie to the audience would debase him further, and there’s simply no need to do that. Thank you, Ron Moore and Anna Foerster, for your modesty.

By the way, what exactly does the ratings board consider “Brief Nudity,” ’cause that ain’t it? Perhaps if Randall had stopped to scratch his chin, they would have dropped the “Brief.” Just sayin’ . . .

What? You were expecting pictures of Jamie’s modesty? Tsk. Tsk.

7. Use of Gàidhlig

Because a very small percentage of audience members understand the Gàidhlig tongue and because the story is primarily from Claire’s point of view, the cast of Outlander speaks English. Watching this episode and hearing more Gàidhlig than we’ve heard the entire second half of the season makes me wonder if the characters have been speaking Gàidhlig all along, whenever Claire’s not around.

While I have not taken the time to attempt learning the language, I do love listening to it. The early line Jamie has in the back of the wagon, when Murtagh is trying to calm him, can be translated through emotional context alone.

“You should have left me there (to die)” is what I imagine Jamie saying, or something similar to it. I haven’t checked with our resident language experts yet, but the scene works for me without knowing the exact translation.

Thank you, Àdhamh Ó Broin, for your unerring dedication to the show.

6. Murtagh Fraser

In Episode 115: WENTWORTH PRISON and this episode, Murtagh is a source of strength for both Jamie and Claire. It’s no coincidence – I’m sure – he carries Claire away from the gates of Wentworth, then carries Jamie out of the cell. When Murtagh swings Jamie over his shoulder, I silently cheer inside.

Murtagh has two additional pivotal scenes in this episode. One is entirely in Gàidhlig, when he and Jamie are arguing over Jamie’s will to live. Again, through emotional context and body language, we can interpret the heart of their conversation.

10_Review_00000 11_Review_00000 12_Review_00000

My other favorite scene with Jamie’s beloved godfather is when he tells Claire, “I’ll not watch Jamie waste away, die like an animal in the woods with his foot caught in a trap.” Murtagh struggles to keep his rage and pain in check, for Claire and Jamie’s sake. It’s a subtle, yet dynamic, performance.

13_Review_00000 14_Review_00000

Duncan Lacroix‘s performance is one of many which makes me ache for thirty more minutes of episode in order to expand upon Jamie’s recovery. I didn’t expect to see Jamie waste away, especially in a Scottish monastery, but I wish as much time could have been spent on his salvation as his brutalization – given the budget, of course.

15_Review_00000

Thank you, Duncan Lacroix, for making me think you really are Jamie’s godfather.

5. Jamie’s Derangement

16_Review_00000 17_Review_00000 18_Review_00000

Diana Gabaldon‘s Outlander novel does it best when Claire pretends to be Randall in order to make Jamie fight for his life. Due to time constraints and artistic decisions, that scene is cut a bit short. But Jamie’s derangement is powerfully captured during his torture and after his rescue to give the viewers a sense of his broken spirit. I love seeing through Jamie’s eyes, the cuts between Randall and Claire – both sinister and heartbreaking. Thank you to Editor Michael O’Halloran for making those scenes so unforgettable.

19_Review_00000 20_Review_00000 21_Review_00000 22_Review_00000

5. Use of Flashbacks

My applause for the use of flashbacks is tied directly to my appreciation for #2 on this list. In the novel, Jamie’s brutal experience is revealed through a series of flashbacks. I am thrilled to see the showrunners apply the same storytelling process. It creates mystery and increases the drama during the final climax.

As you recall, a similar series of flashbacks is used in Episode 107: THE WEDDING also to great effect. There’s something about playing “peek-a-boo” with a  storyline which immensely appeals to me. I know it’s not everyone’s cup of tea, but wouldn’t life be boring if we walked in a straight line and never veered or took a step back? Thank you to Diana Gabaldon, Ron Moore, Ira Steven Behr, and – what the heck – Homer for writing one of the most famous and ancient recorded flashback stories, The Odyssey.

3. Jamie and Randall’s Relationship

Ew. Ick. I’m not supposed to “love” anything about Jamie and Randall together, much less call what they have a “relationship.” But . . . that’s what they have. It’s obvious Randall respects Jamie, and to a certain degree, Jamie respects Randall. He proves that in Episode 109: THE RECKONING when he doesn’t kill the unconscious fiend.

23_Review_00000

What I most love about their relationship is the battle of wills, the struggle for supremacy, the conflict for domination. I stated in my last review that Jamie and Randall are evenly matched in almost all aspects, including intelligence, determination, and honesty. Without a doubt, it’s morality which sets them apart.

24_Review_00000

The dialogue throughout the entire series is top-notch, but there’s something special about the dialogue between Randall and just about every other character in the show, especially Jamie (and Claire). It’s my understanding Tobias Menzies has much to do with that, having taken the role of Captain Jonathan Wolverton Randall to a deeper level.

25_Review_00000

The range of emotions Sam Heughan expresses never fails to impress, but he reaches new heights in this episode, using every part of his body to convey his desperate thoughts, his infinite pain, and his horrific pleasure.

Both actors – both men – show no fear in their portrayal of fierce adversaries in this episode. Thank you, Sam Heughan and Tobias Menzies, for your riveting and breakthrough performances.

2. Claire Saves Jamie

As emotionally charged as the torture/rape scenes are, it’s Claire’s acceptance? . . . forgiveness? . . . of Jamie which most strikes a chord within me. This is the big moment when Claire finds out there is something worse than rape.

I am reminded of a scene in the film The General’s Daughter, between Brenner (John Travolta) and Moore (James Woods). A young woman is brutally beaten and raped by a group of fellow soldiers. Her father, the General, induces her to suppress the incident which sets off a chain of unfortunate and tragic events leading to the woman’s death. During Brenner’s murder investigation, he asks Moore, the rape victim’s commanding officer and friend, “What’s worse than rape?” The response is, ” When you find that out, you’ll have all the answers.”

Sorry to take the long way to get to the point, but that simple sentence is the conundrum of this episode. We are witness to some truly horrific treatment of Jamie, but it’s the single act of succumbing to Randall’s “lovemaking” which breaks Jamie’s spirit.

When Randall delivers the line, “How could she ever forgive you?” I am left to wonder – does he plan on contacting Claire to tell her what happened? I wouldn’t put it past the bastard. After all, Jamie is meant to die, possibly within the hour. Perhaps Randall merely wants Jamie to die with that last thought – the final sadistic knife to the heart.

26_Review_00000 27_Review_00000 28_Review_00000 29_Review_00000

It’s Jamie’s love which keeps Randall from killing Claire in Wentworth. In the monastery, it’s Claire’s love which keeps Randall from completely demolishing Jamie’s spirit. Thank you, Caitriona Balfe, for perfectly illuminating the role of Claire.

1. Author, Creator, Mentor

What can I say about the creator of the Outlander world which hasn’t already been said one hundred times?

Hmm . . . still thinking . . .

. . .  and thinking . . .

I suppose I should simply speak from the heart.

A year ago today, I published a post sharing how much Diana has affected my life – as a writer and a person. Despite the rigorous demands made on a best-selling author and co-producer/consultant on a wildly successful television series, Diana takes the time through social media to share her wisdom and advice to budding writers such as myself.

Because of her influence and encouragement, I completed my first full-length manuscript. Having accomplished the “easy” part, I’ve come to gain a new appreciation for all writers and published authors. A part of me is in every sentence and every word – not only the story and characters. When I look at the thousands of books on my bookshelves now, I see more than pages with printed type. I feel the agony and ecstasy drawn upon to create each individual novel.

I realize that bit of melodrama above has nothing to do with the Outlander season finale, but it goes to show amid the frenzy of writing, traveling, and working on the series, Diana is a generous, good-hearted, and gracious woman with a quick-witted tongue. Thank you, Diana Gabaldon, for being who you are and creating a world and cast of characters for us to love.


For the final episode, Executive Producer Ron Moore is joined by co-screenwriter Ira Steven Behr during the podcast for Episode 116: TO RANSOM A MAN’S SOUL. It should be available for free on iTunes, or you can listen to it here. Ron also discusses the darkness of the episode and the hopeful ending in our last Inside Look of the season.

Costume Designer Terry Dresbach also gives us an inside look at the costumes for this episode, with special attention to Claire’s to-die-for trews and Jamie’s modesty garment. Read her latest blog post: The End, and A New Beginning . . .

Mandy Tidwell provides our final Gàidhlig translations for the season in her Outlander Episode 116 blog post: To Ransom a Man’s Soul – The Gàidhlig Bits I Could Decipher.

Outlander Season 2, based on the Dragonfly in Amber novel, returns to Starz in 2016 in the U.S. No premiere date has been set.

For more goodies on this episode, check out: Jamie’s Top 30 Looks from Outlander Episode 116: TO RANSOM A MAN’S SOUL

And if you missed my previous recapped review, you can read it here: A True Fan’s Review of Outlander Episode 115: WENTWORTH PRISON

57 thoughts on “A True Fan’s Review of #Outlander Episode 116: TO RANSOM A MAN’S SOUL

  1. I am incredibly sad that Outlander Season 1 has come to it’s conclusion and I am going to miss this beautiful adaptation that has kept me entertained and amazed for the last few months. As a British viewer I had to wait for Amazon Prime to pick this series up and was treated to the first 8 episodes back to back culminating with the start of the 2nd half of the season in line with USA viewers. It is a real shame that Outlander wasn’t picked up by a mainstream UK broadcaster as it has been virtually ignored over here, nothing much in the press or on the TV chat shows and this is really sad for the cast and crew who are not getting the recognition they deserve in their own country. Very excited for Season 2 and I look forward to your return just as much Candida. You really are a “true fan” and I salute you for all your hard work and dedication to this wonderful story. Droughtlander is upon us again. Lucky for me I have the books to enjoy and as I am only half way through Book 2 I will have plenty of Claire & Jamie to keep me going until Cait and Sam step back onto our screens. Candida I will revisit your site many times to remind me of this great series and thank you once again for everything you have done each week. Enjoy the Summer and ensure you have a wee break.

    1. I also completely agree with icequeen55. I live in the north of England, almost in Scotland, and cannot believe that one of the major UK TV channels has not picked Outlander up.
      I have watched and enjoyed every episode which as well as the excellent Caitriona and Sam included many UK actors that I have been watching for years.
      I have read the first book and think the TV interpretation was very good with a lot of the written dialogue being used.
      I am now well into the second book and am looking forward to season 2 next year.
      Thanks for all the posts and pics, Candida.

      1. Hello, Diana. It is disappointing the show didn’t get picked up on a national channel, but amazon prime UK’s bid was the highest so that’s who acquired the show. It is baffling. Enjoy the books! I envy first time readers. :oP

        1. I honestly felt like crying for the fans in the UK when the news broke. Obviously Amazon knew what a treasure the show was and snapped it up, but it’s truly heartbreaking that many who can’t afford Amazon Prime were left out. I hope every one of them manages to see Outlander on DVD

          1. I did see an I interview a while back (sam heughan, I think) that said if a network in the UK had opted for the show it would have had to cut the length to 45-48 minutes to allow for adverts … with Amazon prime they could leave the full length as is.

            1. Thanks for that info, I hadn’t heard that before. In hindsight, I’m now glad Amazon got it because it would have been a dreadful disservice to cut each episode’s length.

    2. Thank you so much, IceQueen. I’m very glad I was able to enhance your experience. Enjoy the novel(s). Voyager is my personal favorite, so I would love to hear from you when you get to that part of the story. Please let me know what you think of their continued adventures.

  2. I can’t string two sentences together so I won’t embarrass myself by trying to say too much. I just had to say thanks for hating the Angus ‘kiss/feel’ scene as much as I did. That could have been such a touching moment, especially since Claire said he could kiss her au revoir. Wouldn’t it have been wonderful to see that crazy wild man give her a quick little kiss on the cheek? Thank you Rupert and Willie, especially Willie, for making me tear up. Sob!

    1. Hi, Brenda. Well, I’d say the Angus moment made me scratch my head more than anything. Perhaps we are supposed to assume Angus is ignorant of what Jamie went through. He certainly doesn’t know all Claire knows, but even if he didn’t “know” Jamie was raped, it was certainly obvious Jamie had been tortured. That’s bad enough. Yay! Willie survived.

  3. Dear Candida,
    Thank you yet again for another excellent piece. I find myself at a bit of a loss for words after this episode (not my usual wordy self…). I’m just so incredibly moved by it, it has stayed with me since I saw it. Blown away by every aspect…
    Thank you for thanking the cast and crew and Diana G– I continue to feel incredibly privileged and lucky as an audience member of Outlander– it has gripped me in every possible way (in a way that movies and other shows have not; Outlander for me is the best show I’ve ever seen, and better than most movies). And as for Emmy’s– I wish they all could win Oscars for their work– it’s that good.

    Re: a couple of your points above– Randall said “how could Claire forgive you” not “how will Claire forgive you” (I questioned it at the time and re-watched it). A small but relevent difference, in that Jamie, despite believing he will die– through that sentence is forced to feel unworthy of Claire, whether or not he will ever see her again. It’s Randall’s ulitmate diabolical torture: it makes Jamie feel that he has hit rock-bottom of unworthiness by responding sexually to Randall, that he is truly broken, that he no longer has honour and masculinity. It’s an incredibly sad and tragic moment.

    Re: Jamie/Sam full-frontal nudity. I agree with you wholeheartedly. I’m glad it didn’t happen. There’s an interesting interveiw with Ron Moore about it– and he makes a great point: that if they did show Sam it would distract from the dialogue and importance of what was happening in the scene. All the conversation/buzz would be about Sam’s full-frontal, and not about the actual content and gravitas of the scene. Interestingly, he said they have a lot of footage of both actors full-frontal nudity (so there was no refusal by the actors) but that he decided to edit it that way. I actually think this is something Ron Moore should stick with going forward. As much as I think Sam Heughan is the most beautiful man on the planet and I would love to see him nude– I think that if it happens in future, it would be all over the internet within minutes, and would become a distraction and too much of a bid deal. (i.e. arouse prurient interest rather than real dialogue)

    1. I had a feeling I might have gotten the Randall line wrong, but I drew from the memory of watching the episode on Friday while writing my review on Monday. I have not gone back through the episode repeatedly (as I normally do), so some of the details are murky. Apologies.

      Regarding the editing, I had a feeling that was the case. I’ve not listened to any interviews or read any articles about this episode yet. Actually, I haven’t read anything about this half of the season other than a few fan blogs, but I have lots of time to catch up on my reading.

      Thanks for sticking with me all season, Irene!

      1. Thank you Candida for giving me some truly excellent content to stick to!! Not sure if you will be adding content during droughtlander, but if so, I will certainly check back in. Wishing you a wonderful summer, and of course all best success with your other writing endeavours. As a separate matter, re: the UK Outlander relsease, I’m a lawyer with experience in this space (entertainment distribution) and have some interesting insight on it (which I can’t discuss in a public forum)(i think you have my email here, you’re welcome to write to me directly if you want to, and if you’re ever in London, feel free to get in touch).

        1. I certainly will continue to blog about Outlander, but not a weekly basis. I have a few posts planned which will contain spoilers because they concern the sequential novels.

    2. I also agree. I am a bit surprised to hear they have Sam on film. I thought he might decline. He’s learned the hard way that he needs to start protecting himself. Note his absence from social media. Kudos to the editing department..

  4. Thanks, Candida, for this great piece. I, too, am sad that Season 1 is over, but look forward to Season 2. I just watched this episode last night for the first time, and am completely blown away by it. I’m still trying, without success, to keep certain scenes out of my head – mostly, the scene where Jamie finally gives in to Randall’s “lovemaking”, and the aftermath in the abbey, with Jamie wanting to die. I’m glad they maintained Sam/Jamie’s modesty throughout – it would only have served as a distraction if they hadn’t, imho. I do feel the scene with Claire saving Jamie was given a bit of short shrift, but feel the torture scenes needed to be as lengthy as they were to make the point that this wasn’t “just” rape, or physical torture – this is Randall systematically breaking Jamie down physically, mentally, emotionally. I am NOT someone who enjoys watching torture, rape, brutality, and the like; I do not minimize rape as being a traumatic event alone, by my statement above; but feel Randall’s full efforts to break Jamie needed to be shown.
    The dialogue was great, and I can’t say enough about the great acting in this episode. Sam and Tobias really brought it, and I admire them both so much for all of their efforts. I didn’t care for the weird goodbye scene with Angus, either, but that’s maybe the only part I didn’t care for.
    Please know that your writing efforts have inspired me – not a writer – to write my first guest blog piece for another blog (not Outlander-related). I’m still working on it, and it has shown me just how talented the authors and blog writers I enjoy truly are. Thank you. Looking forward to your return when Season 2 begins.

    1. Good luck on your debut blog post, Liz! I hope it encourages you to do more. Perhaps you’ll be ready to write about Outlander Season 2 when it returns next year.

      I completely agree about the time spent on Jamie & Randall’s scenes. They were perfectly handled. It’s unfortunate there wasn’t enough time to spend in the monastery. I’m curious to see if some of Jamie’s continued recovery is covered in the early parts of Season 2, not that they don’t already have an excessive amount of material to fit into 13 episodes. I do not envy the decisions having to be made.

      Thanks so much for always taking the time to drop me a comment! :o)

      1. Thanks for the words of encouragement, Candida! You’ve set the bar really high here -so smart, funny, and inventive. I’ll definitely keep throwing my 2 cents in the comments here when Season 2 starts, at the very least!
        Big congratulations on finishing your full length manuscript.:-) That’s awesome! Keep us in the loop as things start to happen, eh? I’m not surprised Diana Gabaldon encouraged you along the way….I’ve never met her, but she seems very nice and down to earth. I do follow her on Facebook and Twitter, and she always has funny posts. I adore her sense of humor.
        Have a great summer!

  5. i hope this is NOT a reply, but a post….wordpress is being hinky this morning! i have been waiting for this blog….wondering how you would handle it….and i must say, as always, you have done a mind-blowing job of writing about, and illuminating, the episode for us….and thank you for your personal comments about your own writing process….i feel you….only a poet am i, yet i hear you….and to know that diana has been so kind…well, it doesna surprise me! i have a convoluted/small world connection to her (i live in PHX, so not all that surprising….) and i know her to be everything you expressed….i will miss outlander (the series) and your blog….i hope you will let us know about your manuscript! i admire your writing greatly (i only semi-stalk you!) and wish you a lovely life until we meet again…on twitter, or on your blog (s)…..thank you for everything! warmly, kathie

    1. Thank you, Kathie! Yes, Diana is truly generous with so many writers. I don’t know how she does it.

      Well, the “easy” part is done. Lol. The really hard part is finding someone willing to publish it, eh?

  6. I love you outlook on the last episode. I was heartbroken when the shot of Jamie on the cot came on screen and continued so as the show progressed. I feel the episode was true to feeling of that time in the story. I do wish that it might have been split into 2 shows to show more of the emotional process but do understand Ron’s decision to change the ending as well. All in all I love the show and cannot wait until season 2

  7. Great recap! Thank you for recognizing that showing Jamie’s penis would have been a further debasement of the character. I am appalled at the fans who are calling for that and disappointed “it” wasn’t shown. I am very thankful they preserved that one bit of dignity for the character and the actor in this horrific episode. It was difficult enough to watch without that.

  8. Spot on, as always. (I’ve interrupted my work day to read this–guess I’ve been waiting for it, lol). I am grateful for the visual of this amazing story. I will probably continue to disagree with some of the story line choices-but, hey, not in charge here. The obvious and subtle part of this episode worked well but the loss of time Jamie has to exorcise some of his demon(s) via Claire was disappointing– so this last episode had some let down for me. The book made me (still does) cry. Not so much the visual. Gotta admit though-for what these folks were given–wow. Absolutely wow.

    1. I feel the same way….but I realize they only have so much time to fit everything in, and I’m not the one making the decisions (Thankfully!! How hard would that be??). That part of the book makes me cry every time.

    1. I tweeted your blog, but you don’t have a twitter account associated with it. It tweets with the default @wordpressdotcom. As a result, I mistakenly gave credit to another Outlander fan. Do you have a twitter account? Would like to correct the mistake, if possible.

      1. Thanks Candida. I got a lot of traffic from your tweets. My tweeter is @EleanorTy but I don’t use it a lot.

  9. ” but I wish as much time could have been spent on his salvation as his brutalization”, That was the thing missing for me in the last episode. I did read a recap my Diana that said she wanted the hot springs scene in there, but they didnt add if. I would have liked that one last scene in there too, it would have helped with the “saving of Jamie” part for me. That just wasnt long enough.

  10. I know your blog is widely read and I hope the people you thanked see how appreciative you are. You speak for all of us.

    And while thanks are being distributed, I would like to thank you for having what I consider the best Outlander blog of all. Once I discovered you, I spent many hours backtracking to read entries written before my discovery. Please know I will be at the front of the line when you return for season two.

  11. Glad to have discovered you. Great post. Twice Diana has come to Fergus, Ontario Canada for the Fergus Scottish Fair and I was able to hear her and have a book autographed. She is so genuine and a lovely speaker.

    1. Hi, Beverley. I’m glad you discovered me, too! :oP

      Yes, I’ve had the fortune of meeting Diana a few times in ideal situations. She is a very generous lady. It’s truly amazing how much time she devotes to fans given the many demands made on her hectic schedule.

  12. thank you so very, very much for all of the work you have put into your blog. I have thoroughly enjoyed it and look forward to your covering Dragonfly In Amber. I have read almost ALL of Diana’s books. All 8 Outlander books, some Lord John and have saved some for the “dry” period between Season 1 and 2. I am going to Scotland on August 21st for 2 weeks during which time I will be in Edinburgh and also on the MacKenzie “Outlander” tour. I feel I must see these places described in the books. I LOVE all of the characters and I think they did a fantastic job in casting. I can’t imagine ANYONE else playing Jamie or Claire! God Bless You and good luck to you for your writing career.

    1. Thank you so much, Linda, and have a fantastic time on your trip. I’m sure you will. I was last there in September 2014 (my third time in Scotland) and had a wonderful time meeting other Outlander fans and visiting a few of the shoot locations.

    2. I couldn’t agree more. Thank you so much. Love all of the comments and sentiments here. The “Outlander” tour sounds fantastic! Would love to hear about it. I am planning a trip next year and would love to fit this in. Looking forward to future blogs and comments. Best to all.

  13. Thanks Candida, as always you give a terrific view of the series.
    I wish it could have been a 2 hour show, or even a cliff hanger and continued next season in the Abby and Clair bringing Jamie back from the dark side. I did read a blog that Ron explained the time constrants and they had to rewrite and cut many scenes from the book.:
    http://www.outlandertvnews.com/2015/05/post-episode-116-to-ransom-a-mans-soul-interview-round-up/
    I nearly missed BJR’s peanut, it went by so fast, but kudos to the actors
    for a great performance.
    As for Angus , he has been wanting to get his hands on Claire.
    But I did not like the way he manhandled Claire for that goodbye kiss. Very uncouth.
    I will be watching for more of your musings.
    I think BJ says to Jamie : how could she forgive you..

  14. Thank you for your insight into what was a very difficult episode for me to watch. About those darn time constraints . . . I have tried really hard to keep the book and show separate and I think I’ve been pretty successful but this last episode was just too much crammed into a single hour. Jamie’s torture was brilliantly depicted. His redemption by Claire, not so much. I agree that the adaptation was well done. I just personally feel they needed an extra 30 minutes.
    But, as they say in Scotland, I’ll do.
    You forgot the coos! It was so awesome that they found a way to keep them in.
    The Gàidhlig was incredible. So effortless and so effective. I read that Sam and Duncan practiced their exchange at the abbey so much because they wanted it to be perfect. It was. In the beginning it sounded harsh to me but now it is so beautiful.
    Ron Moore kept his word. He didn’t screw up his wife’s favorite book. I loved his podcasts with insight into why they did certain things. Especially about how they discovered that certain actors brought more to some of the minor roles than they expected so they beefed up their screen time – like Willie. Ron also gave Murtagh more to say than Diana did, which added so much to the depth of his character. (I still haven’t figured out Ron’s obsession with Frank but that’s a minor annoyance.)
    I’d like to second your thank you’s. We fans have been so lucky that everyone associated with the Outlander production – actors, producers, writers, directors, especially Terry D. and, of course, Diana – has been so enthusiastic and giving where we are concerned. I don’t connect with others shows I watch the way I do with Outlander so I don’t know whether that is normal or not, but I truly appreciate it.
    Most of all I appreciate your blog. Believe it or not there are some crazy Outlander websites out there. You have a comfortable space here and I look forward to reading what you have to say.
    Congratulations on completing the novel. I dabble with writing (Diana is my idol because I write like her – no outline, just scenes) so I know just how difficult getting to the place where you write “the end” is. Fingers crossed that you find a publisher. If your blog is any indication you shouldn’t have a problem with that.
    And please, please keep posting throughout Droughtlander!

    1. Thank you so much, Susan, for your kind words. I’m glad to hear my website is a comfortable space for you to visit. I try to keep my musings positive and honest. Yes, there are things I could complain about, but why? I prefer to focus on the good and stay away from the melodrama on SM.

      Thank you also for your well wishes. My completed manuscript is the first in trilogy. I can use all the crossed fingers I can get!

  15. Brilliant review! Completely agree about Angus’ kiss, it felt very out of place for me, especially in an episode that, in my opinion, got so much right. I really liked the way they dealt with Jamie’s healing. I agree more time could have been spent, but I’m glad they didn’t show Jamie and Claire being intimate, especially considering the condensed timeline. I’ve really enjoyed your blog and look forward to Season 2!

  16. I missed this due to my inept ability to multi-task. But, Candida, I applaud your adept interpretation and expression of this final episode. Thank you for each Op-Ed as I have come to see them. You, woman, are a wordsmith and the most intelligent reviewers of the series, in my humble opinion. Blessings and looking forward to Season Two!

  17. Thank you for your enlightening post. I have only recently finished watching season 1 but have not read the books. As with many viewers I found the final episode rape and torture very intense albeit an important part of the plot. But for some reason I feel the need to get some closure on what exactly happened between Jack and Jamie in that prison cell. I think I get the psychological aspect of it but not quite clear on what physical torture Jamie actually endured in the hands of Jack where he reaches his limit. What did Jack do to Jamie after that first rape scene on the table and the scene where Jamie was lying on the floor writhing in pain with mouth full of blood?

    Thanks

    1. Great question, Noana. As with any torturer, the objective is to make the subject give in, give up, surrender information. In this particular case, Jack wants Jamie to surrender himself – not only his body. Jack has raped other prisoners in the past, but I don’t believe he ever received complete satisfaction. He does, after all, dwell in darkness. The rape and torture is not what breaks Jamie. Thinking he is to die in the morning, Jamie is willing and able to endure anything Jack can inflict. The novel explores this scene in much more detail (of course) but not necessarily in a gruesome, physical way. Jack interjects tenderness and what he considers to be love in between the torture. We see only a glimpse of that in the show. Jamie’s ultimate break is when Jack makes him respond due to that tenderness. Jack knows Jamie intends to block him out so uses Claire to keep Jamie focused on what is happening. In a sense, Jamie lets Jack inside which is what is unbearable. There are other hardships in Jamie’s future which will add to his future nightmares (no spoilers!), but he’ll carry this experience with Jack for the rest of his life and it does have an effect on an important relationship in an upcoming novel – Voyager (my absolute favorite of the series which introduces a fantastic character. The character is actually introduced in book 2/season 2, but you won’t know who he is until season 3.) There are also hints of a vital character from Jack’s past who you’ll meet in season 2 (no spoilers!).

      I recommend the books to everyone, especially if you love the show, but you don’t have to read them to continue enjoying the series. If you do decide to read the first novel, be sure to read the entire thing and not just the last few chapters. You won’t appreciate the full impact of Jack and Jamie’s relationship. I hope this helps.

Leave a Reply

