Jamie’s Top 30 Looks from #Outlander Episode 110: BY THE PRICKING OF MY THUMBS

Outlander Episode #110: BY THE PRICKING OF MY THUMBS has quite a bit of action. Jamie  (Sam Heughan) and Claire (Caitriona Balfe) move onto the more advanced stages of marriage and make us almost not care what happens after. Claire and Laoghaire  (Nell Hudson) have a face off in the kitchen and come to a direct understanding. Geillis (Lotte Verbeek) does a naked wicca dance in the woods and makes a number of revelations. Claire meets the Duke of Sandringham (Simon Callow) and parries words with him. Dougal (Graham McTavish) goes on a drunken rampage and swings his sword at everything that moves. Poor Arthur Duncan (John Sessions) finally meets his demise and ruins the party. Jamie duels against three Highlanders at once and kicks their asses.  Finally, Colum (Gary Lewis) has a hissy fit and kicks everyone out of the Castle. See what I mean?

In this episode, Jamie displays an impressive range of Jamie faces, the main motivation being the quest to clear his name. Though the return to Lallybroch is the central theme, this was one of the more challenging episodes to break down because of the wide array of action.

Here we go with the 10th Top 30 of the season:

#30: Jamie’s Holding The Baby Face – A very tender scene. Makes me sad Jamie never gets to hold Brianna . . . or Faith.

#29: Jamie’s F#@* You, Uncle Colum Face – Had to give Dougal a break as he gets fairly beat up, but Colum is a madman this week.

#28: Jamie’s Dueling Face – Hey, we can actually see Jamie’s face clearly in an action sequence. We all like it Scot.

#27: Jamie’s Claire Is Going To Kill Me If I Don’t Die Face – Come on. It’s just a scratch.

#26: Jamie’s Do It For Lallybroch Face – This has nothing to do with Jamie’s face, but I kept thinking about Diana Bishop from The All Souls Trilogy during this scene and how long she had to practice writing with a goose quill. Claire has some mad skills.

#25: Jamie’s Comforting Claire Face – You know, if I didn’t know what was going on in this scene, Jamie would look kind of like a d*ck.

#24: Jamie’s I’m Putting On My Breeks Face – Yes, you are.

#23: Jamie’s The Duke’s Fondness For Other Men Face – How many times do we have to say it? There are no other men like you, Jamie.

#22: Jamie’s The Duke Was Very Attentive To Me Face – You’re lucky I wasn’t around when you were sixteen. By the way, what’s the statutory age in the 18th century?

Eww. I can’t believe I just made that joke.

#21: Jamie’s Dangerous Times Face – No sh*t. Have you read all the novels yet?

#20: Jamie’s I’m Not About To Offer Up My Hindquarters Face – Damn.

#19: Jamie’s I’m An Innocent Man Seeking Justice Face – I’m sorry. What did you say? You’re doing that distracting thing with your chest again.

#18: Jamie’s I’m Getting A General Pardon Face – Umm . . . if it was that easy, everyone would do it.

#17: Jamie’s Damn, I Just Figured Out How To Use This Thing Face – I guess Colum figures because he ain’t get any, no one is.

#16: Jamie’s I Promised I’d Never Ask Face – Weell, this might be a good time to break that promise . . .

#15: Jamie’s One Step Closer Face – Never mind. With an innocent face like that, Claire takes matters into her own hands.

#14: Jamie’s One More Scar Face – Nothing worth brooding over? I’d like to see for myself, please.

#13: Jamie’s Still Putting My Breeks On Face – Really? You’re complaining I have this picture on the list twice?

Didn’t think so . . .

#12: Jamie’s Return To Lallybroch Face – Lallybroch. Lallybroch. Lallybroch.

#11: Jamie’s Kill Bill Vol. I Face – Jamie’s about to go Uma Thurman on someone’s ass.

Top 10!

#10: Jamie’s Help Me Face – Don’t worry. Murtagh will step in if things get too friendly.

#9: Jamie’s Sublime Combination Face – Or not. Though after Laoghaire’s golden orbs, you’re lucky the Duke’s not putting your hand on his golden rod.

#8: Jamie’s “You’re Not Normally A Closed-Mouth Woman . . .” Face – We’re back to Jamie talking to himself . . .

#7: Jamie’s ” . . . But Quiet Anger Can Be Very Effective” Face – . . . and looking adorable as he does it.

#6: Jamie’s Making Love With His Eyes Face – Even with half his face covered, he still melts the wame.

#5: Jamie’s I’m In Love Face – And this is only saying goodbye for a few weeks. Wait until we get to Craig na Dun. Break out the tissues.

#4: Jamie’s Kissing Claire’s Palm Instead Of . . . Face – Never thought I’d say this, but f#@*ing Murtagh.

#3: Jamie’s We’d Be Happy At Lallybroch ‘Cause No Murtagh Face – True. But there is that one time Laoghaire and your stepdaughters barge in on ye. Awkward.

#2: Jamie’s Doing His Husbandly Duty Face – I don’t know what he’s thinking about here, but thank God for method acting.

#1: Jamie’s I Can’t Believe I Have To Leave My Wife Face – Yeah, I know. You want #2 to be #1, but it’s my list and this is my favorite scene.

Outlander Episode #111: THE DEVIL’S MARK premieres on Starz on Saturday, 18 April 2015 in the U.S.

If you missed last week’s Top 30, you’ll find it here: Jamie’s Top 30 Looks from Outlander Episode #109: THE RECKONING

My recapped review of this episode is also available: A True Fan’s Review of Outlander Episode #110: BY THE PRICKING OF MY THUMBS

27 thoughts on “Jamie’s Top 30 Looks from #Outlander Episode 110: BY THE PRICKING OF MY THUMBS

      1. You forget that she writes updates in Davey Beaton’s little medical book and I would think she’s been there long enough at this point to be fairly good at it by now.

  1. #9 is definitly my favorite, well, actually they all made me laff.. But there is something about the way the old Sleeze is touching our Jamie…lol

  2. Love this list, thanks for sharing! Personally, Love #5 as my #1 but like them all… Claire’s face saying goodbye is even more heartbreaking, watch “her brows & eyes” you can see the hurt 😦

  3. Re #30…Sad indeed, but Jamie does get to hold his grandchildren at least.

    Also, re Jamie removing his belt and the kilt not falling, after watching The Reckoning for the third time, I realized he’s wearing two belts. The outter belt serves other purposes, not holding up his kilt.

    Love your choices; you had a lot to work with in this episode. The next two episodes have a lot of potential, too. I’m going to need a box of tissues for episode 112.

    1. Thank you, Diane. It’s difficult to tell at 3 o’clock in the morning sometimes. :oP If figure if I can make myself smile, it will turn into a laugh for you all!

  4. Yeah where was Murtagh? I saw the photo still of him standing over wounded Jamie on top of what looked to be a some kind of light-emitting, tanning contraption. Do you know what that is?
    Brava! I enjoy your work very much, Candida, & look forward to each recap bc these last two eps are just so packed.

  5. I live for the 48 hours or so after the episodes premiere just so I can read your blog!!!!! I grin like a damn fool when I read them and I swear you make me love these characters more than I already do and that’s pretty impressive! Well done and thank you 🙂

  6. Woah. He looks like my brother in #29. Weird…and icky. Don’t ever do that again, Jamie! Does he even have a face in #24 and #13? I didn’t see one. Let me look again…nope, still can’t see it.

    This would have been the perfect post to throw in a token Murtagh. You know the one. “Mistress.” Speaking of, am I the only one that kept thinking every single time Jamie got close to Murtagh in that scene: “Nothing like a good whiff of Claire in the morning, eh Murtagh?” Yes, I’m crude.

    I think #9 is my fave. He’s like that beautiful young Roman soldier that the emperor has his eye on in hopes of scoring a little one on one time down at the baths but the soldier knows it’ll be a cold day in hell…

Leave a Reply

