Jamie’s Top 30 Looks from #Outlander Episode 105: RENT

As I state in my review, Outlander Episode #105: RENT is very dark. But there is also much sparkage lighting up the screen – not all of it romantic. That’s okay. We want to see all the characters shine, especially the “sweet lad” Jamie (Sam Heughan) – as Dougal refers to him.

Outside the dank walls of Castle Leoch, everyone seems to come alive. It’s impossible not to be affected by the verdant air and sweeping landscapes of Scotland.

Dougal (Graham McTavish) is chipper, despite his constant mistrust of Claire. Ned Gowan (Bill Paterson) is his own breath of fresh air, despite his asthma. Angus (Stephen Walters) is still grouchy, despite everyone else’s laid back attitude. Claire (Caitriona Balfe) is feistier than ever but finds herself sympathizing with the MacKenzies, despite her captivity.

And then there’s Jamie . . .

His character is tempered in this episode, despite where we left him off last week in THE GATHERING. In the novel, he and Claire have a well-established friendship mixed with humor and an undercurrent of untapped sultriness. We catch a spark here and there, two-way this time, but the writer’s are stretching out their love connection as much as possible.

Thank goodness we have Top 30 to fantasize about our relationship, er, Jamie’s relationship with Claire and his kin. Without further ado, I present Jamie’s Top 30 Looks for RENT.

#30: Jamie’s Am I Jacobite? Face – We are not certain at this point in the story whether Jamie is a true Jacobite, but he is most certainly a patriot – so this is a good place to start.

30_Jamie's_the_Jacobite

#29: Jamie’s I Wish These Guys Would Stop Talking About Sex Face –Poor Jamie. Do these guys talk about anything besides sex he can’t have? What about sports? Politics? Anything. Change the subject already.

29_Jamie's_wish_these_guys_would_stop

#28: Jamie’s I’m Taking Out My Frustrations On A Tree Face – I think Jamie’s really frustrated because the writer’s neutered him in this episode. Sorry. I love the show, but come on . . .

28_Jamie's_hits_tree

#27: Jamie’s I Need A Manicure Face – I’m available 24/7 for all your grooming needs, Jamie. May I suggest a full body massage to go with that manicure?

27_Jamie's_needs_a_manicure

#26: Jamie’s Lousy Bastards Face – After weeks on the road with these stinky, foul-mouthed Highlanders, they scare away the only pretty thing in camp.

26_Jamie's_bastards

#25: Jamie’s Stolen Food? Face – Aw, Claire. You aren’t including Jamie in your comment about thieves, are ye, lass?

25_Jamie's_stolen_food

#24: Jamie’s He’s My Uncle Face – Once again, Jamie proves how far he’s willing to go for family – even for a son-of-a-bitch uncle like Dougal.

24_Jamie's_he's_my_uncle

#23: Jamie’s Angus Is A Clouty Bastard Face – I guess that’s the Scots way of calling someone a sheitheid?

23_Jamie's_clouty_bastard

#22: Jamie’s Please Don’t Murtagh Face – Enough self-sacrifice, Jamie. Pl-e-e-a-a-se let Murtagh kick Dougal’s ass for you!

22_Jamie's_stops_Murtagh

#21: Jamie’s What’s Wrong With You Woman? Face – What’s wrong with her? What’s wrong with you? It’s 10 against 1 woman. Where the heck have you been?

21_Jamie's_what's_wrong_with_you_woman?

#20: Jamie’s You’re A Witty Lass Face – That’s more like it, lad. Also, I think she’s talking to you, too. The walls of the inn are thin.

20_Jamie's_you're_a_witty_lass

#19: Jamie’s Don’t Call Me A Sweet Lad Face – Ah, what a great scene this is – straight from the book. The final confrontation between these two in Dragonfly In Amber is going to be a very powerful performance as are all their face-to-face battles.

19_Jamie's_sweet_lad

#18: Jamie’s My Neck Is My Own Concern Face – Boom!

18_Jamie's_my_own_concern

#17: Jamie’s And So Is My Back Face – I had to round out this scene. It was too perfect not to include.

17_Jamie's_so_is_my_back

#16: Jamie’s I Can Mend My Own Shirt Face – I thought you understood – that’s my job. I think I noticed a rip in your kilt as well. . .

16_Jamie's_fix_my_own_shirt

#15: Jamie’s Ye Did Ask Face – And we get a spark of Jamie humor for the front row.

15_Jamie's_ye_did_ask

#14: Jamie’s I Didn’t Think You’d Care For That Kind Of Attention Face – Well, you would be wrong.

14_Jamie's_didn't_think_you'd_care

#13: Jamie’s Your Reputation Would Be Ruined Face – There you go, being all judgmental again. If I want to ruin – I mean, if Claire wants to ruin my, er, her reputation, that’s my– Ah, to hell with it. Get in here.

13_Jamie's_reputation_ruined

#12: Jamie’s If Only She Were Mine Face – Open your eyes, Jamie.

12_Jamie's_if_only

#11: Jamie’s I’m A Verra Bad Boy Face – Oh, we likey this side of you, Jamie. We know exactly what you’re thinking while Claire gets her blanket for you. Should I? Shouldn’t I? Should I? Shouldn’t I?

Yes, you should.

11_Jamie's_bad_boy

Another week, another Jamie’s Top 10.

#10: Jamie’s F#@* You Uncle Dougal Face –This look has become a staple in every episode. Maybe it’ll turn into Thank You Uncle Dougal Thank You  in Ep107 THE WEDDING.

10_Jamie's_f#@*_you_Uncle_Dougal

#9: Jamie’s Good Morning Mistress Face – This brief interlude between our star-crossed lovers is priceless. If Jamie is this awkward the morning after sleeping 10 feet from Claire’s bed with a door between them, what’s he going to look like after after? Can’t wait to see!

09_Jamie's_morning_after

#9: Claire’s Good Morning Mr. McTavish Face – The 20th Century cougar is amused with her 18th Century cub.

09_Claire's_morning_after

#8: Jamie’s I Am Humiliation Face – This is one of the few shots depicting Jamie’s humiliation. I wanted more of an exploration of his character during these scenes as it is covered in the novel. But alas, we got what we got.

08_Jamie's_humilation

#7: Jamie’s I’ll Be Right Here Face – How many think if she’d asked him one more time to come into her room, he would have stepped over the threshold? Where’s a bottle of magical horse dung when you need it?

07_Jamie's_I'll_be_right_here

#6: Jamie’s You Tried To Run  Face – Toward you, Jamie. Toward you.

06_Jamie's_you_tried_to_run

#5: Jamie’s Sleep In Your Room With You? Face – YES! For God’s Own Country Sake! YES!

05_Jamie's_sleep_with_you?

#4: Jamie’s I’m Sorry I Tripped You Face – I’m really getting tired of Claire tripping over Jamie while he’s asleep – and he’s not in the nude. What is wrong with this show?

04_Jamie's_sorry_I_stepped_on_you

#3: Jamie’s I Feel A Spark Face – Finally! Jamie and Claire look at each other – thinking the same thing, feeling the same thing, wanting the same thing. Unfortunately, they say the same thing, too – Good night.

03_Jamie's_First_Spark

#3: Claire’s I Feel A Spark Too Face – You see, this is why you should never get married if you plan to do any kind of time travel.

03_Claire's_First_Spark

#2: Jamie’s I Feel Sparks Igniting Face – And that was just her hand, buddy. Wait ’til you touch her . . . MmMmmm.

02_Jamie's_sparks_fly

#2: Claire’s I’ve Never Felt Anything Like That Before And Technically Frank Is Not Alive Face – No one’s judging you. No one’s looking either. Quick! Pull that bad boy into your room!

02_Claire's_sparks_fly

#1: Jamie’s Touch – This moment is too special not to place in the #1 spot. Even without seeing their #2 faces, we all know what’s happening upstairs – and down.

01_Jamie's_touch

I hope you enjoyed my latest Top 30. Although this is not my favorite episode of the series, it has some great moments. Get used to seeing Claire’s lovely face in the Top 10. She and Jamie will soon be one.

“Ye are Blood of my Blood, and Bone of my Bone.
I give ye my Body, that we Two might be One.
I give ye my Spirit, ’til our Life shall be Done.”

Outlander Episode #106: THE GARRISON COMMANDER airs on Starz on Saturday, 13 September in the U.S.

If you missed last week’s Top 30, you’ll find them here: Jamie’s Top 30 Looks from Outlander Episode #104: THE GATHERING

My review for Ep105 is also available: A True Fan’s Review of Outlander Episode #105: RENT

29 thoughts on “Jamie’s Top 30 Looks from #Outlander Episode 105: RENT

  1. You just make my day! Thanks for your hilarious commentary!

    From: Candida’s Musings Reply-To: Candida’s Musings Date: Sunday, September 7, 2014 at 6:32 PM To: Diane Graves Subject: [New post] Jamie¹s Top 30 Looks from Outlander Episode #105: RENT

    WordPress.com Candida_LN posted: “As I state in my review, Outlander Episode #105: RENT is very dark. But there is also much sparkage lighting up the screen ­ not all of it romantic. That’s okay. We want to see all the characters shine, especially the “sweet lad” Jamie (Sam Heughan) ­ as “

  2. Once again ye are spot on with your fabulous pictures!! Gotta say I love the hands touching actually felt chills for that whole scence including Jamie’s protectiveness of Claire!! They are so meant to be like Romeo & Juliet except the dying part!! Thank you again for your narrative & gorgeous pictures of each episodes! I really look forward to them.

  3. Love your musings and you are right, Jamie was neutered in this episode (great way to put it) and I was a wee bit bothered by that. My hope is, given his true character, there were reasons (good ones) why he pulled back in this episode. Stay tuned. 🙂

  4. “You see, this is why you should never get married if you plan to do any kind of time travel.” You are brilliant! I asked my friends (Outlander virgins) way back in Episode 102, if going back in time give you a hall pass. The answer from everyone, including the husband, was a resounding YES. So I, I mean Claire, can do what she wants.

    1. I sometimes make adjustments to the stills – like lightening, adding contrast, etc. I didn’t do that this time though I probably should have. Thanks though! Glad you like my selections.

  5. Thank you thank you thank you!! I love everything that you write and the wittiness behind them! Just wondering what your thinking with regards to “neutering” Jamie? Im very curious!

    1. If you read my review, I explain in more detail. Basically, I believe the writers made his character much too docile in this episode. There was very little exploration and/or expression of his frustration with Dougal using him as a prop for the Jacobite campaign. Also, I don’t think he was as protective of Claire as he would/should have been.

  6. I love these posts! Hilarious! By the way, did you know Diana Gabaldon posted the link to the Garrison Commander episode in her Facebook page? that is how I found out about this site. Can’t wait to see what you post next.

    1. Thank you so much, Aniuska.

      Yes, I did know. I was extremely honored. She posted my review of RENT last week and my review of THE GARRISON COMMANDER plus my Top 30 this week. So kind of her!

      If you liked this week’s Top 30, I hope you also take the time to read the others. I have a lot of fun putting them together. There will definitely be a special edition for THE WEDDING.

      1. I am completely hooked on your musings. I have been catching up with your previous posts. It is hard sometimes to read because of the laughing. They are such fun. Who, seriously, isn’t waiting for The Wedding? I’ve specifically re-read the chapters in the book leading to, during, and post wedding bits (ALL of the bits through to the Lallybroch chapters:). Now I have your musings to look forward to in addition. Thank you.

    1. Me, too, Connie! I was so excited about THE GARRISON COMMANDER, I got a very late start on my review. I MUST hunker down quickly to do my posts for THE WEDDING or I’ll never finish before the end of the weekend. I know there will be hundreds of juicy looks from which to choose.

Leave a Reply

