Ask McTavish Too

Another Friday, another #AskOutlander with Graham McTavish. Mr. McTavish took a time out in Boston during the pre-production of Disney’s The Finest Hours – a  film about a daring coast guard rescue off the coast of Cape Cod in 1952, also starring Chris Pine and Casey Affleck – to answer our questions.

Once again, I used my multi-tasking superpowers to slip some questions to Mr. McTavish while at work. Yay! He answered one. Because this is my blog, I let my question and his answer inspire my intro to his transcript of tweets to follow.

Question: What is the best thing about Scots?

Answer: Their humour and their compassion.

I think these two words form the basis of our love affair with Scotland and its peoples. I’ve always believed the way to a woman’s heart is through her funny bone. At least, it’s the way to mine. Laughing is one of my favorite activities, and I’ve been told I have a contagious laugh. Only a very small number on twitter have heard it in person, so you’ll have to take my word for it. I love to laugh! The only thing I love more is making others laugh. Hmm. Maybe I have some Scottish blood in me. Any Scots with Spanish leaves on their family tree who’d like to claim me? If so, give me a jingle at 1-800–I-–Scotland.

Now, let’s address the second other best quality of a Scot – compassion. Most of the Scots didn’t seem to be overly compassionate in the 18th Century – at least to those outside their own clan. Fortunately, I’ve had the privilege of meeting several Scots in person who quite fit the bill, not to mention the host of warm-hearted and gracious Scots with whom I’ve befriended on twitter.

However, an old joke comes to mind . . .

A man is sitting on a blanket at the beach. He has no arms and no legs.

Three women from England, Wales, and Scotland walk past and feel sorry for the poor man.

The English woman says, “Have you ever had a hug?” The man says, “No,” so she gives him a hug and walks on.

The Welsh woman says, “Have you ever had a kiss?” The man says, “No,” so she gives him a kiss and walks on.

The Scottish woman comes to him and says, ” ‘ave ye ever been fooked, laddie?”

The man breaks into a big smile and says, “No.”

She says, “Aye – ye will be when the tide comes in.”

Hey, I didn’t write it, but at least she warned the poor man, aye?

Now on to the tweets. I’ve added a little something extra at the end for your pre-Outlander show entertainment.

Dougal’s Top 10 Outlander Looks

10. Dougal’s F#@* You Jamie Face – Fair is fair. Heaven knows Dougal’s been on the receiving end of plenty of these looks.

10_Dougal_f#@*_you

9. Dougal’s Kris Kringle Stabbed In The Gut Face – Yeah, that might well be what Hamish looks like when he grows up. Like father, like son.

09_Dougal_stabbed_2

8. Dougal’s Give Her Your Belt Face – How much did we love Dougal putting toothless Angus in his place?

08_Dougal_give_her_your_belt

7. Dougal’s Kick The Nasty Highlander In The Ass Face – Is this how they play “Wack-a-Mole” in Scotland? Anyone?

07_Dougal_kicks_ass

6. Dougal’s Feels Like Someone Hit Me On The Heid Face – Just another Saturday night in Castle Leoch.

06_Dougal_my_head_hurts

5. Dougal’s Never Heard A Woman Use Such Language Face – Better plug your ears, mate. She’s just getting started.

05_Dougal_never_heard_a_woman

4. Dougal’s Feral Cat Is Trying To Pull In Her Claws Face – This is no way to hit on a lass, man – not before her fifth glass of rhenish anyway. Watch the redheid. He’ll show you how to do it.

04_Dougal_feral_cat

3. Dougal’s I Just Want Someone To Love Me Face – Hmm. This looks familiar. Claire has the MacKenzie men wrapped around her little finger, or rather – around her.

03_Dougal_wants_love

Jamie (Sam Heughan) gets close to Claire (Caitriona Balfe).

2. Dougal’s I Really Can Smile Face – Quick! Take a picture.

02_Dougal_laughs

1. Dougal’s Pay No Mind To The Redheid On The Stool Face – Ah, our first vision of the big man. It’s difficult to keep your eyes from bouncing back and forth, isn’t it? They don’t grow ’em like they do in Scotland!

01_Dougal_pay_no_attn

2 thoughts on “Ask McTavish Too

Leave a Reply

