Ask TallShip

Happy Labor Day Weekend, everyone. This week’s twitter Q&A put the spotlight on our very own Maril Davis, Co-Executive Producer of the Starz Outlander series. I missed #AskOutlander last week, but today I covertly tweeted questions to Maril from my desk with one hand & one eye on my phone and my other hand & other eye on my monitor. Yes, it was tricky but well worth the effort as Maril answered two of my questions! Perusing the tweets below, I see some of my unanswered questions were asked by others and answered by Maril.

One of the main topics piquing people’s interest is undoubtedly Season 2. We’re all eager for the cast and crew to take a well-deserved break before they get to work on Dragonfly in Amber though I suppose the show will simply be called Outlander Season 2.

Ah, Season 2. There are several scenes to which I am personally looking forward to seeing next year. I list a few of them below in chronological order – not going to attempt prioritizing. Just to be safe, I’d better give fair WARNING to spoilers ahead.

1. Jamie’s (Sam Heughan) sausage chase and the meeting of young Fergus. Who among us is not dying to see that scene? I suppose it might be told in flashback as Claire is not there to witness the hilarious and heroic events.

2. Claire (Caitriona Balfe) and Jamie’s sighting of Alexander Randall. Will Tobias Menzies prevail and snag the role? Wouldn’t that be a lovely triple treat?

3. Meeting Mother Hildegarde and Bouton at L’Hôpital des Agnes. They can’t possibly leave out good ole’ Bouton or Mother Hildegarde!

4. Jamie and Randall’s duel on the Bois de Bologne in Paris which leads to a devastating sequence of events, including Claire’s submission to the King of France.

5. One of the most pivotal scenes in the book – though it may not seem so upon the initial reading – is Jamie meeting the young John Grey for the first time. As everyone knows, LJG is one of my absolute favorite characters, thus my eagerness to “meet” him myself.

6. Jamie and Dougal’s (Graham McTavish) final confrontation. Oh, heck. all the events surrounding the final days before Culloden, but especially that.

7. I can’t say I’m exactly looking forward to Jamie and Claire’s parting at Craigh na Dun, but I know it’ll be beautifully done, so . . . I’ll bear it but without a grin.

8. And last but not least, the introduction of Brianna and Roger MacKenzie! Yes, I know we meet them early in the book, but who knows what Tall Ship will do . . .

What scene do you most long to see visualized in Season 2?

Reflecting on Dragonfly in Amber does make me a bit sad as we are forced to say goodbye to several wonderful characters. Whether it’s your favorite or least favorite novel, it is certainly packed with some of the most dramatic moments of the series because of their definite and sometimes seeming finality. It’s an immense amount of drama to squeeze into 13 episodes, but we know Outlander Starz and Tall Ship Productions won’t let us down!

Now, onto the tweets  . . .

[Technical note: If the tweets below do not appear embedded, please click on the title “ASK TALLSHIP”. This will fix the problem. Sorry for the inconvenience.]

3 thoughts on “Ask TallShip

      1. Yeah me too! I just hope they don’t sacrificed two parts, The part when Jamie comes back to Claire after the duel and when Jamie send claire back to her time. Though I’ll be dying inside at the part.

Leave a Reply

