Jamie’s Top 30 Looks from #Outlander Episode 101: SASSENACH

The Outlander television series, based on the novel by Diana Gabaldon, is finally underway. While we toil away the hours waiting for Episode #102: CASTLE LEOCH (airing on Starz 16 August in the U.S.), I thought I’d have a little more fun with Episode #101: SASSENACH.

And so, here’s my Top 30 Countdown of Jamie Fraser’s (Sam Heughan) best looks in the show. As his character is introduced half-way through, I had fewer scenes to select from than I will in future episodes – but what a selection we were given! Read on to see if you agree or disagree with me. As usual, it’s all in good fun.

 #30: Jamie’s Giddyup Face – Don’t we love a man who loves animals?

30_Jamie's_giddyup_face

#29: Jamie’s I Have To Dump You On The Ground Now Face – And none too gently either.

29_Jamie's_get_off_my_horse_face

#28: Jamie’s I’ve Had A Hard Life Face – Please don’t mention the name “Black Jack” Randall to this man and definitely do not ask if he knows him.

28_Jamie's_I've_had_a_rough_life

#27: Jamie’s I Meant To Fall Off My Horse Face – Yeah, he meant to do that.

27_Jamie's_I_meant_to_do_that

#26: Jamie’s Who The Hell Is This, Where The Hell Did She Come From, And What The Hell Is She Going To Do To Me Face – And the trust begins . . .

26_Jamie's_who_the_hell_are_you?

#25: Jamie’s This IS A Good Place For An Ambush Face – Um, why did a woman from the 20th century and another country have to point out the obvious to her captors?

25_Jamie's_ambush?_face

#24: Jamie’s I Can Kick Like A Rockette Face – No stunt man needed.

23_Jamie's_Rockette_leg_lift

#23: Jamie’s Look At My Thigh Muscles Face – Are you looking at his face? Nope. You’re looking at his leg, aren’t you?

24_Jamie's_look_at_the_muscles_my_leg

#22: Jamie’s I Don’t Need No Stinkin’ Sling Face – Ouch. That’s gotta hurt.

22_Jamie's_I_don't_need_no_stinkin'_sling

#21: Jamie’s Good Ole’ Tulach Ard! Face – No one yells it like this man.

21_Jamie's_Tulach_Ard!_face

#20: Jamie’s I Think We’re Being Watched Face [In Gàidhlig] – Everything sounds sexier in Gàidhlig, doesn’t it?

20_Jamie's_I_think_we're_being

#19: Jamie’s Making Sure She’s Not A Wet Nurse Face – What exactly are you doing back there, lad?

19_Jamie's_making_sure_face

#18: Jamie’s Castle Leoch-Sweet–Castle Leoch Face – Yeah, even he doesn’t looked thrilled to be there.

18_Jamie's_home_sweet_home_face

#17: Jamie’s Take A Drink And Forget Your Troubles Face – All night on a horse with this man wrapped around her, and she’s still not convinced? Sheesh!

17_Jamie's_take_a_drink_face

Followed by Claire Randall’s (Caitriona Balfe) Yuck Face – It’s not Colum’s Rhenish, after all.

01_Claire's_yuck_face

#16: Jamie’s I Trust Her Face – The trust is already building between them.

16_Jamie's_I_believe_her

#15: Jamie’s Who The Hell Is This Amazing Woman Face – This man has more looks than I can countdown!

15_Jamie's_who_is_this_amazing_woman?

#14: Jamie’s Yes I’m In Pain And Almost Bled To Death On The Side Of The Road But I Can Still Flirt Face – You cheeky lad.

14_Jamie's_she's_flirting_with_me

#13 Jamie’s I Got Mine So Get Your Own Beautiful Sassenach Face – He’s just happy to have her “back in the saddle.”

13_Jamie's_I've_got_mine_face

#12: Jamie’s You Don’t Want To Know What I’ve Got Under My Kilt After Doing Battle With The Redcoats Face – Okay, I’ll say it . . . remember the scene after the skirmish with the Campbells . . . a little something called a cockstand?

12_Jamie's_I've_got_a_cockstand

#11: Jamie’s I’m A Soldier Face – Don’t really know what it is about this look, but I love it – so intense. What’s he thinking?

11_Jamie's_soldier_face

And finally – hope you’re still with me – welcome to the Top Ten.

#10: Jamie’s This Is My Wet & Sexy Face – Shooting in the rain is a pain but damn.

10_Jamie's_wet&sexy_face

#9: Jamie’s I’m Looking At The Face Of An Angel Face – Are we in love with him yet?

09_Jamie's_face_of_an_angel

#8: Jamie’s Wet Nurse? Face – Easy boy.

08_Jamie's_wetnurse?_face

#7: Jamie’s You’re Making My Teeth Rattle Face – And there’s that Jamie sense of humor.

07_Jamie's_you're_making_my_teeth_rattle

#6: Jamie’s I Just Said Cocknammon Face – Say it again please.

06_Jamie's_cocknammon_face

#5: Jamie’s I Showed You My Tongue Now You Show Me Yours Face – Okay.

05_Jamie's_I'll_show_you_mine_face

#4: Jamie’s I’m Just Plain Hot Even With All This Blood Face – No explanation, excuse, or reason needed. What a minute . . . why is this not #1?

04_Jamie's_just_looks_hot_face

#3: Jamie’s I Wish She’d Said Yes So I Could Throw Her Over My Shoulder Face – Silly, silly Claire.

03_Jamie's_I_win_face

#2: Jamie’s Thank You, Sassenach Truly Face – Le Sigh.

02_Jamie's_Sassenach_face

#1: Jamie’s My Father Always Told Me I’d Know When I Found Her Face* – Sorry, Frank. We love you, too, but . . . Well, you understand.

01_Jamie's_in_love_face

* I know this isn’t the moment he wakes up to find the Sassenach sitting on his chest, but I like this picture of his eyes through her hair, staring up at her with complete devotion and love.

So, that’s my Top 30. I hope you had fun with my selects. Methinks we might need a Top 30 of Frank’s Best Looks. What do you think?

Lastly, I want to mention this list is dedicated to my friend, Carrie Merrick. I hope you got a chuckle or two from it, Outlander Warrior. [Sorry. I couldn’t find enough pictures of someone’s “fine ass.”]

53 thoughts on “Jamie’s Top 30 Looks from #Outlander Episode 101: SASSENACH

  1. One of my fave parts of episode 1: Claire, after chastising Jamie for hiding the bullet wound and subsequently falling off the horse, protesting & stomping after Dougal because he said they’d have to continue riding.

    1. That was when I realized that Jamie was going to explain things to Claire instead of just expecting her to listen like a “good woman” would. He was already showing her the respect she deserved.

  2. Oh my! This is even better than the Jamie’s lips collection. I laughed out loud when Claire said, “I’m a nurse” and Jamie promptly stared at her chest. LOL Her indignant, “Not a WET nurse!” was priceless and Jamie looked so ashamed. Your captions are brilliant.

    There were several times when he looked at Claire like she was an angel who had suddently appeared to save him. More of those to come for sure.

    Sam has totally captured the Jamie eye twinkle and smirk. All I can say is Sam IS Jamie.

    A collection of Frank’s expressions might be fun, but I doubt you’d find 30 good ones…unless you wait awhile for “Black Jack” Randall. *shivers*

      1. LOL You can focus on ANY part of Jamie that you want. Thanks to Sam, he has NO bad parts. None! None whatsoever! I think Sam and Jamie are going to be the death of me. But what a way to go, aye?

    1. I would have been happy with just “behind” shots, but only found those in the cottage with Jamie sitting on the stool by the fireplace. Thankfully, plenty more episodes to go!

  3. LOL! So so good Candida!!
    My fav is #13 ROFLMAO!
    #1 I agree, those piercing blue eyes of his say it all! I absolute love that scene.The way they look at each other is outstanding! You know that they’re giving it their all. Cait is absolutely stunning in that segment too.

  4. I’m going through the screen shots again and looking at them full size. I just burst out laughing at Claire’s “yuck” face after drinking from the flask. Too funny. Reminds of how a baby acts when it gets a spoonful of something it doesn’t like. Jamie looks gorgeous in that same pic.

    Regarding numbers 24 and 23 — I wonder if they had to do several takes before Jamie’s kilt stayed where it was supposed to. *snort* Wouldn’t that be great on a blooper reel? 🙂

  5. Thank you again can’t get enough of Outlander:-) You forgot the sexual tension is thick look, after Claire helps Jamie in the Cabin right before he stands up when everyone leaves!! I know Jamie has soooo many sexy looks to choose from must be hard to narrow them down. Sam is exactly as I picture Jamie in my minds eye. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    1. Indeed. I usually start out with around 100 looks – at minimum, then whittle them down from there. Next comes the ordering and re-ordering. Thanks for adding your selection! Be sure to check out Jamie’s Looks from E102.

  6. Pingback: URL
  7. Pingback: http://akasse.nu/

Leave a Reply

