Gallery

The next best thing to Scotland…Cape Breton, Nova Scotia (oh, and the Outlander Premiere)

Enter to win an autographed 1st Edition copy of Written In My Own Heart’s Blood by Diana Gabaldon or an 11″ x 17″ Outlander Key Art Poster – courtesy of the Great Scot! blog.

Great Scot!

In my mind, Cape Breton, Nova Scotia is the next best thing to Scotland and that’s where I’ll be for the next couple of weeks. Although GreatScot! blog posts may be a little more infrequent than usual, rest assured that I will keeping an eye out for interesting tidbits to post from time to time during my vacation.

For those who may not be familiar with Cape Breton Island, it is an island at the northern tip of the Canadian province of Nova Scotia. As it was largely settled by Highland Scots emigrants, Cape Breton has a rich Gàidhlig history and many aspects of that culture are still evident today. The Celtic musical tradition is especially strong and there are still places where Gàidhlig is routinely spoken. I’m looking forward to the chance to practice my limited Gàidhlig vocabulary and see if anyone can understand me.

Here are a few pictures I took…

View original post 108 more words

3 thoughts on “The next best thing to Scotland…Cape Breton, Nova Scotia (oh, and the Outlander Premiere)

Leave a Reply

